5 Signs We’re Sabotaging Our Beautiful Lives and How to Stop It Intentionally

Challenges, setbacks, and pain are inevitable, but we don’t have to suffer.

Jerine Nicole
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

As a young nurse, I’m currently living the best time of my life. My husband and I live in a beautiful 4-bedroom house. We both have amazing jobs and a rental condo that’s practically paying for itself. We’re living the “dream life” in Canada (one of the most expensive cities to live in), and we’re only 28 years old. Most days, I’m grateful for it.

But on other days, like today, I can’t help but feel anxious. I constantly ask myself, “Ugh, why aren’t I there yet?” I’ve been trying to become a successful content creator for years, but I’ve yet to see the success I crave.

I’ve come to recognize these behaviors as forms of self-sabotage. In this post, I’ll outline five key signs of this behavior and the strategies I’ve learned to overcome them. I still have a long way to go, but writing my thoughts and sharing them with you at least shows my intention and determination.

1. Unhealthy obsessions

Right now, I’m a little obsessed with YouTube. I’ve spent thousands of dollars trying to grow my channel by buying a fancy camera and a fancy mic, hiring coaches, buying Ali Abdaal’s $3K…

--

--

Jerine Nicole
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com