WRITING

6 Strategies to Make the New Profile Work for Us All

Portfolios and self-created topics will do the trick. And what Medium can do to help.

Desiree Driesenaar
Curated Newsletters
6 min readDec 5, 2020

--

Stories can build upon one another and become a successful portfolio. Picture: Floriana Minz via Pixabay

Many of my sister and fellow writers here have commented on the new profiles Medium gave us. I did the same when I was part of the beta group and thought I could have a little influence.

But no. Their mind was made up. And many of us don’t like the outcome. We’re lacking in skills to make the new profile work for us. So, let me shine some light on what I think Medium is trying to do (and they mean well for all of us, honestly!) and what they might consider instead.

And let me end with 2 tips on how to make the new profile work for us anyway if Medium does not change anything soon.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz wrote this story some days ago. With suggestions to Medium on how to change the design features with design thinking. There’s lots of truth in it.

--

--