A Day In The Life Of A White Supremacist Troll

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters
4 min readNov 1, 2020

--

Photo by Grant Durr on Unsplash

I am a black woman and I recently wrote an article about how it would feel like to have white privilege for a day. It was a fantasy type of piece detailing the impossible daydream of a middle-aged black woman longing to not being harassed for a single day in her life.

It was a thought-provoking piece, I even thought that it would make some of my blacks friends smile, but for some reason unbeknownst to me, the piece became quite popular with the white supremacist crowd.

I began to get numerous defensive comments on several social media platforms including this one. As the piece grew viral within the magic realm of the universe, the comments became more and more hateful, more and more heinous.

Whenever I read these comments, my mind would try to construct what type of a human being could create such hate? What did this man or woman look like, what did they eat for breakfast that morning, or did they not have breakfast? Were they happy in life or in their sex life for that matter? What did this person do for a living, were they terminally ill, pretty, ugly, white, or even black? I was curious.

Did this human being, or should I say, did this troll from the ugliest troll lands ever imagined by mankind, did this troll even ever leave his or her house? Was he or she a Trump supporter? Was he or…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.