A Lifetime with Dad

I had an epic Father. He set the bar high for what it means to be a man.

Teresa D Hawkes, Ph.D.
Curated Newsletters

--

Every year I do a tribute to my parents on their respective birthdays.

Dad, me, and Mom, circa November, 1956. Old England.

January 5, 2021 was my dear Father’s birthday. He was born in the terrible year of 1929. He died on May 31, 2003. I miss him every day. Because he and my mother were people of deep and sincere virtue, I have had a good life. Men like him are born into every generation. I am super grateful and share with you stories and images from this particular good man’s life. If you didn’t have a loving father, know many men are loving fathers. If you are a person without a loving father, you can be a loving parent anyway, though it will be harder. If you are a person looking for a loving man to partner with, you can find him, it will just be harder. We unconsciously look for the people types we grew up with.

These stories about my dad show what a loving father is and does, and I share them because his life was a gift to me and our family, and I hope they will be gifts for readers as well, because like the rest of us, you too struggle through this large and confusing world and need the love and guidance of a good father.

Here is Dad having fun when he and my mom first met. He was 17, she was 13.

--

--

Teresa D Hawkes, Ph.D.
Curated Newsletters

We all matter! Code: ALL. A Warren Democrat. A scientist. A poet. A mother. LOVES Bader Ginsburg. Loves McCartney. Is old.Is white.Is LGBTQ.She/her/me.Is woman.