AUTISM AND HOMELESSNESS

A Place Called Home

Alone Again, Autistically . . .

Keira Fulton-Lees
Curated Newsletters
Sep 27, 2019

--

ArtfullyAutistic ∙ The Beauty of Autism Within the Written Word, Music, and the Visual Arts
Photo By Licvin at shutterstock.com

A gaze of farness settles into my eyes
Thoughts float nameless, I cannot revise
Scripted patterns of sense amplified
Shadowed as strangers, I cannot describe

A trace of sadness welded into cast iron
The lost and the aimless, tossed into the fire
Shifted standards, they no longer apply
Insignificance of danger, my only reprise

A phase of changes sets off the surprise
Faults, most blameless, I still pay the price
Transitions alter my chance to survive
Routineless rearranger, I try to see why

A place of hope, I pray, soon to hang high
Portraits still frameless, in drawers in my mind
Positioned on altars that cannot be pried
A Place Called Home, is all I desire

--

--

Keira Fulton-Lees
Curated Newsletters

Artfully Autistic Advocate for Autism, Writer, Editor, Artist, Musician, Owner of the Medium Publication: Artfully Autistic: https://medium.com/artfullyautistic