Adult Pedal Car

Bob Jasper
Curated Newsletters
3 min readAug 14, 2023

--

A new vehicle to help combat climate change while having fun.

Photo by Author

My wife and I were enjoying a picnic lunch in the park when a man rolled up in the vehicle pictured above. As he extracted his tall, lean frame, I commented:

“That’s quite the vehicle.”

He took that as an invitation to join us at our table, which it was. We talked about the “car” and learned that he’d pedaled it more than sixty miles that morning. He said people would drive by and take videos of him on the road.

I’ve enjoyed adult recreational biking since the late 70s, so this machine fascinates me.

I questioned the safety and said:

“I’d want a big yellow flag flying above it to help insure drivers saw me.”

He agreed that a flag would be a good idea, but I guess he felt safe enough without it. Fortunately, many of the back roads around here (rural Minnesota) have wide shoulders which add a half lane or more to the right of the fog line for bikers to ride on. And the state provides a good network of biking trails where bikers can safely ride without concern.

The driver, Tom Hagerty, turned out to be an ambassador for the company that makes the “Bülk” and other versions of the car. He loved talking about it. He said he received the Bulk a couple of months ago and really enjoyed…

--

--

Bob Jasper
Curated Newsletters

My Muse is in hiding, but we cross paths from time to time. I think I gave the old guy too much grief. Maybe he quit without notice.