“Aging is Optional.” Okay. Sure.

Fraudulent claims and fake cures. We’re just missing the sideshow barker.

Julia E Hubbel
Curated Newsletters
10 min readOct 19, 2020

--

My brand new sports chiro, who is a superb athlete, commented through his mask that quality aging was available. He’s 48, and as someone who pushes the outer edges of what his body is capable of doing like I do, we have a lot in common. He’s facing down midlife, with a body that would belong to a teenager in the prime of life, but riddled with the scars and tire tracks of a life lived with exuberance.

My kinda doc. I can relate.

A few hours later I was slinging weights at Planet Fitness. One of the local advertisers was running an ad on the wall right where I was punching out curls with my 67-year-old body.

This caught my eye:

AGING IS OPTIONAL.

First, that’s fraudulent. Not only do none of us get out of this alive, but we all age, we all diminish, and we all owe our Mother the right to use us to fertilize what is left of the world She gave us.

Second, science fiction aside, physics decide that we age, for time isn’t negotiable. I am a few minutes older than I was when I began this article. That is immutable. There is NO way to stop time as we know it, as we inhabit three-dimensional bodies, which are…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Curated Newsletters

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.