Am I Pro-life? Maybe, but I Really Don’t Like the Title…

James Alexander, PhD
Curated Newsletters
7 min readJun 8, 2023

--

Photo by DJ Paine on Unsplash

James Alexander, MATheol, MA, PhD, TSSF

Something I once heard…

I think I want to begin this article by quoting (best as I can recall) something I heard Andy Rooney say once. Of course, it came out that he had his foibles. Obviously, at least bigoted. But, before any of that came out, he said something once on his 60 Minutes commentary that really stuck with me.

It went something like this: I don’t like abortion. But I like the people who like abortion better than those who don’t. Guess, at least when it comes to that line, and everybody deserves at least one good one, I must say that I can see where he was coming from.

His homophobia, racism, xenophobia? Well, sadly, he was expressing the opinion of too many. He was clever, often funny. It came as a surprise to most viewers. I’m sure many of us were saying, Too bad he was such a damn jerk! It is a sad legacy to leave behind.

Not an absolutist…

But, in that idea, he’s right. I can say that, at least for me, because of all the stuff that the righteous pro-life police stand for — anti-LGBTQ+, wanting more and more guns, religious fundamentalism, book banning, misogyny, often racism (look who protests BLM and Critical Race Theory), anti-social…

--

--

James Alexander, PhD
Curated Newsletters

Former minister and professor. I now mostly work s a transpersonal spiritual director. I've got a cool Maine Coon named Baxter.! Thanks for reading my articles.