An Incredible Journey Part Two

Raising the stakes on a past winner.

Liam Ireland
Curated Newsletters
6 min readNov 10, 2020

--

Photograph by Matthew Schwartz on Unsplash

The plan was to see if I could somehow establish contact with my deceased father via the leather flying jacket. If it was possible for that jacket to exist in two places at one and the same time, the past and the present, just maybe I could communicate with him. I could try putting the jacket on and see if that would transport me into the past as it seemed to have done earlier, but quite frankly that scared the hell out of me. God only knows what it would do to my mother and father. To meet up with an as yet unborn child of the future could very easily end in disaster. Instead I decided to write a short letter to my father and put it in the inside pocket of the jacket in the hope that he would find it and respond. I took hold of an old faded Basildon Bond notebook and an old biro and set to.

Dear Jack Chandler

If and when you find this letter then please write at the bottom "Got It" and place it back inside the pocket where you found it. Thank you.

PS You can't trust a fart.

The last line was something my father often used to say and just maybe it would serve the purpose of pricking his interest.

I then neatly folded the letter and placed it inside the inside pocket of the jacket. Then I fell back down…

--

--