Books | Publishing | Self-Publishing | Indie Authors

Authors: Are You a One-Trick Pony?

If you’re writing a book, don’t be a one-trick pony.

Jacquelyn Lynn
Curated Newsletters
4 min readJun 25, 2020

--

Authors: Are you a one-trick pony?
Photo by Jerry D. Clement; text added by Jacquelyn Lynn

Early in my writing career, when I was freelancing for magazines and before I had the opportunity to write my first book, I was at a writers conference where I heard an editor with a major New York publishing house say this:

We don’t want one-book authors. We don’t make money on your first book — we’re happy if we break even on that book. Authors typically don’t get profitable for publishers until their second or third book, after they’ve established a following. So when you send us a book proposal, be sure it includes your plans for at least two more books.

I’m paraphrasing, of course, but that was the gist of his message.

A woman in the back of the room raised her hand and said:

I’m 85 years old. It took me ten years to write my book. I don’t have time to write two more. What am I supposed to do?

The room full of younger, eager authors erupted in laughter, but she had a serious, valid question. Though the editor was sympathetic, he reminded us that publishers are businesses and they have to make a profit to stay in business.

--

--

Jacquelyn Lynn
Curated Newsletters

Inspirational author, business ghostwriter. Need some great quotes? Get “A Book of Proverbs: Wisdom of the Ages” free. Download at CreateTeachInspire.com/wisdom