Ballad of 3-Eyed Lou

a humorous poem with narration and music

Pernoste & Dahl
ILLUMINATION-Curated
4 min readJan 15, 2024

--

Image by Pernoste; Poetry by Pernoste & Dahl

The Ballad of 3-Eyed Lou

It was late in the day, the sun was high
I was sitting on the bench outside
thinking I’d have to find my way home
if Anne wasn’t gonna give me a ride.
Don’t know why she has to be so wrong
when I’ve given everything I can,
but she woulda left me stranded on the side of the road
if it wasn’t for that strange dark man.
That strange man was Lou.

. . . . . . . . .👽. . . . . . . . .

I had a job waiting west, a ways out there,
on the coast just north of Monterey.
And Lou was OK driving all those miles
but he sure did have things to say.
He started talkin’ a lot, about strange stuff
so I kept my mouth shut mosta the time,
but when his voice got gruff, saying weirder stuff
the car began an upward climb.
The car started to fly.

--

--

Pernoste & Dahl
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Pernoste & Dahl are a writing duo of heartfelt poetry and fiction. Find us on Substack (https://pernosteanddahl.substack.com/)