HAIKU

Black Pearl Beauty

The black pearl is formed in an oyster called the Pinctada margaritifera. The pearl’s value is enhanced, not diminished by its hue. I hope that Black women everywhere can understand their hue does not decrease their value.

Cocoa Griot
ILLUMINATION-Curated
2 min readNov 30, 2020

--

A beautiful Black woman is shrouded in colorful sprinkles.
Photo by 3Motional Studio from Pexels

Broad nose, brown skin girl.

The world is your oyster too.

Beautiful Black pearl.

When I was growing up, I was always in the shadow of my older, light-skinned sister. I remember people, not in my immediate family, referring to us as the black one and the bright one. One of the people I admired most never referred to my sister and me in those terms.

My great-grandmother Lillie Mae Blanford had skin that was like newly formed obsidian. She was pure chocolate and her hair was like silken snow. The contrast was stark but incredibly beautiful. I was born during her 6th decade of life. Growing up with this proud deeply melanated woman as an encourager was an invaluable experience.

She was dually a maid and a businesswoman. Lillie Mae garnered meagre earnings working for a prominent family in the small town of Blooming Grove, Texas. That did not deter her from creating and maintaining a side hustle.

Lillie Mae acquired several properties and was a kind landlord. She especially sought out single mothers that were desperately trying to make ends meet, and rented homes to them. I am so thankful for the time I spent with her during summer vacations. This beautiful Black pearl was a gift to every life she touched.

Thanks for reading my Haiku!

--

--