Cold Showers and Their Effect on Mental Toughness

Who knew getting out of your comfort zone could be a routine?

Sanjeev Yadav
ILLUMINATION-Curated
2 min readFeb 18, 2022

--

Photo by Seth Doyle on Unsplash

To get the courage to write on a new topic or finish a difficult task, a cold shower as the first thing in the day is a good reminder that I can do it.

I am not dividing people based on what kind of showers they prefer. Sure, they are scientific reasons for both hot and cold showers.

But the aspect of cold showers which is most rewarding is sliding into the discomfort zone and not feeling challenged enough to quit.

I live in Bengaluru, where the temperature is around 25 °C yearlong. Not too hot, not too cold. It does reach around 19 degrees in winter, but I still won't switch to a hot shower.

I have a reason for it. Remember when we had bitter gourd in dinner? It tastes, well, bitter, but has detoxing properties. That’s why our parents shove it down our throats ( if yours did).

On the other hand, a cold shower is not bitter, but it invites resistance before touching the first drop of cold water.

How cold showers improve your mental toughness.

Since you can find the scientific evidence everywhere, I will dive straight into the emotional plane and say how I feel in the shower ( in the order mentioned below ) without catching fever so that it is more relatable than science:

  1. Why even shower?
  2. I don’t want to do it?
  3. Can I do it?
  4. Oh no! I am already doing it!
  5. Wait, it’s over? How?

This quick experience of tackling a difficult activity by simply being present gives the willpower to face any challenge during the day.

This thought triggers my mind as I live through the ups and downs of daily life:

“That initial discomfort you feel from cold showers is exactly what sets you up for success later because you go on with your day, believing that nothing else will be as punishing as a cold shower.” — Tiffany Sun

I relive the experience of cold showers as a motivation for workouts, writing, and even talking to people, especially strangers.

Let’s see what mental barrier you will overcome with the experience of cold showers.

If you want to receive more stories like this, my lifelong learning newsletter is for you.

Sanjeev is a writer, mentor, and FPS gamer from India. He writes about lifelong learning, personal growth, and positive psychology. When he’s not busy with his muse, he’s sweating either in a workout or PC gaming. He’s active on Twitter.

--

--

Sanjeev Yadav
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Writer • Mentor • Recovering Shopaholic • IITR 2019 • ✍🏼 Personal Growth, Positive Psychology & Lifelong Learning• IG & Threads: sanjeevai