Dear Internet Troll,

You’re wasting your time

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

I’ve been on this platform for more than 3 years now. In the beginning, I was so eager, glued to my stats page day and night. Whenever someone like you responded to my articles, I hadn’t yet identified you as a troll, so I’d rush off to read what you said. And then I began to realize that you’d always only say nasty things. I didn’t understand why you felt the need to say the horrible stuff you said. Those first months were tough.

As you know, I write a lot about racism, a topic that really aggravates internet trolls including racists and white supremacists like yourself. Some of the hurtful comments you made used to keep me awake for days until I built myself a tougher skin.

Today, I can identify you and your friends from a mile off — you create whole new profiles to attack me, you don't use your real name, and you respond to several of my articles at the same time. When I see this pattern and others which I won't share here, I don’t even look at your message. I simply don’t care about what you have to say.

One thing that people like you don’t get is that as a Black woman, I have been bullied a lot in my life. It’s sort of weird to say that I am used to getting bullied, but it’s true.

I throw on my emotional armor on and can read anything thrown my way. I actually…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.