Pscychology, Sociology

Do Implicit Biases Drive Your Behaviour?

Today’s climate of systemic racism implores us all to search within

Lee Nourse
ILLUMINATION-Curated
7 min readOct 8, 2020

--

I am white. I grew up in a predominantly white community in a small town in western Canada. The one black person in town was a child adopted by a white family. Everyone knew his first name whether they knew the family or not. That’s how “word” travels in small towns.

There was no diversity in my life. When my family moved to the city of Calgary, I got my first taste of diversity at school. Then, I was basically the only white kid in my class who made friends with non-white kids. Most non-white Canadians in Calgary at that time were either Asian or Indigenous.

Childhood Experiences With Diversity

My first two experiences with indigenous people, in 3rd and 4th grades, were very positive. First, I made friends with Leslie. I still remember her long flowing hair, her warm glowing smile, and her love of candy! We would go to the candy store together after school.

My second indigenous friend was Sandra. As with Leslie, when I saw Sandra at the start of the school year I automatically gravitated toward her.

Stoic and quiet, she was my new underspoken friend. I realized how underspoken she was when Grandma told me one day that Sandra was a real princess! Her father or grandfather was chief of their indigenous tribe — which made her a princess. They both appeared on the front page of the Calgary Herald one day during Stampede, in full regalia!

At 14, I got my first part-time job, working in a college cafeteria. Now reflecting back, I see a pattern had begun emerging in my behaviour. As I did when I made friends with Leslie and Sandra, I found myself again gravitating toward non-white people. This is how it unfolded.

back view of a male in a restaurant kitchen
Photo by Michael Browning on Unsplash

Diversity at Work in my First Job

I worked on the steam line serving food. Among the many white students who would line up in the cafeteria for breakfast, lunch…

--

--

Lee Nourse
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Grief and its Transformative Power -- I help people who've lost loved ones view grief as a door to transformative growth.