Do You Suffer From This Disorder?

Julia E Hubbel
ILLUMINATION-Curated
6 min readSep 16, 2021

--

Photo by arash payam on Unsplash

The pursuit of unhappiness, especially your own. Please kindly don’t show up at my house. But wait, there’s more.

During some research for another article, I came across a bit of intriguing information about a rather little-known psychiatric disorder that might explain some of what I’m seeing on Medium and elsewhere.

The disorder is called Cherophobia, which is when a person has an irrational aversion to being happy.

From this website:

The term comes from the Greek word “chero,” which means “to rejoice.” When a person experiences cherophobia, they’re often afraid to participate in activities that many would characterize as fun, or of being happy.

Based on many of the titles I see, some of the articles I start and promptly dump, it seems that not only should this be formally classified but it also seems to be spreading fast.

While it’s true that misery loves company, the tendency is to want to drag others down with you. That probably deserves its own psychiatric definition.

I don’t wanna be happy and I sure as hell don’t want YOU to be happy either.

While that doesn’t fall into the definition, it sure can feel like it sometimes.

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Not writing here any more. I may crosspost. You can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ .Also visit me at WalkaboutSaga.com