Do You Want To Rent Out Your White Privilege For A Day?

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters
3 min readDec 6, 2020

--

Photo by Jayson Hinrichsen on Unsplash

So here’s the deal, I’ve got a lot of stuff that I need to do today, but I am a black woman. I don’t want to go to shopping because I know I will be followed around by the security guards, and after years of having to go through that, it gravely upsets me. I know that if I go out to walk my dog, I might meet that racist old lady around the corner and she may well insult me and spoil my day as well. I know that if I try to return the oversized jumper I purchased last week, it will be a hassle.

Somedays, the sheer exhaustion of being black is just too hard to bear, too traumatic. And so that’s why I am asking to rent someone with white privilege for a day. You might think that that’s absurd, but it’s not. Imagine how much less stressful my life would be with little to zero racism? I’m already breathing a sigh of relief just thinking about my rented white privilege.

Seriously, I think that people with white privilege should consider monetizing it by renting it out for a day, a month, a year? Now that’s a value proposition that many black and brown people could well buy into. Could you imagine not having to deal with racist cab drivers, shop keepers, travel agents, waiters, hotel receptionists, neighbors, colleagues, school teachers — the list is endless? That would be a dream. All you would need to do is use your rented person…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
Curated Newsletters

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.