Don’t You Go Messing With My Dulles International Airport

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated
4 min readApr 4, 2024

--

Honestly. Can we never leave well enough alone?

The terminal building at Washington Dulles was designed by famed Finnish architect Eero Saarinen, who also designed the TWA Flight Center at New York’s JFK International Airport. The graceful Dulles terminal is said to suggest flight. Saarinen would roll over in his grave if he knew Trump was being considered for the new name. Photo by Carol M. Highsmith on Wikicommons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dulles_International_Airport,_Virginia_LCCN2011634381.tif

As a self-professed airline geek, I’m consumed with all things air: airlines, airplanes, and airports.

Name the airlines that flew nonstop between Las Vegas and San Diego in 1966. They sure as hell weren’t American, Delta, or United. Actually, I think you had to connect at LAX.

But that’s beside the point.

I just read a story by Johnny Robish saying that House Republicans are floating a bill that would rename Washington’s Dulles International Airport to Donald J. Trump International Airport.

I couldn’t believe my eyes. I thought it was a satirical article. So I Googled it, and sure enough, it was real.

Republicans have gone too far with this idiot. More than half the country doesn’t even like him. I’m not sure, but I think most of the world doesn’t care for him either. Besides Russia.

The sponsor of the bill, Rep. Guy Reschenthaler, R-Pa., had this to say about the airport’s proposed name change:

“Freedom. Prosperity. Strength. That’s what America stood for under the leadership of President Donald J. Trump — the best president of my…

--

--

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.