Find Inspiration In Your Creative Family Tree

Think like your creative heroes to find untapped creativity

Jim Woods
Curated Newsletters
4 min readSep 21, 2020

--

Photo by Gilly Stewart on Unsplash

A lot of art I find online is the same. A copy of a copy of a copy. There’s no personality. It’s just so… boring.

But there are some pieces of art that jump off the page. These creations that I can’t help but share. And when I find someone creating things like that on a consistent basis, he or she becomes an influence.

So, who are your influences?

Do you know? If not, it’s worth thinking about it. I recommend you pull out a piece of paper and just think about it for a minute and jot a few down.

Figure out who influenced you the most and then you can even start to see connections.

Photo by Austin Kleon/Austinkleon.com

You might think you have tons of influences, but you can really narrow it down quite fast.

If you were to ask me one of my influences, I’d say Chuck Palahniuk.

But in order to think like him and not just rip him off, I need to climb his creative tree. Let’s use him as an example. One of Chuck’s biggest influences is Amy Hempel. And…

--

--

Jim Woods
Curated Newsletters

I help small businesses, writers, and non-profit organizations repurpose their content and create books. Contact me: Jimwoodswrites@gmail.com