Goodbye Tin Cans

Finally, no more tinned food.

Dr John Frederick Rose
Curated Newsletters

--

My tin cans. Auto shopping. Stop in aisle, reach, grab, forget. Picture by John Rose.

Shopping expedition,
Needed tomatoes for
curry and casseroles,
Advice from English
TV chefs preparing
exotic dishes that
take hours I don’t have
using stocks I haven’t
prepared and herbs
whose names I forget,
But one thing these
TV chefs have to say
Use Italian tinned
tomatoes for
added taste,
Just assumed
they’re right because
they’re on TV,
Silly me.

Shopping expedition,
Armed with
shopping trolley,
Battering ram,
Determined pushing,
Looking harassed,
People make way,
Occasional crash,
Apologies while
grinning wildly.

Really I’m preoccupied,
Remembering recipes
Stocking up with
things I forgot from
last shopping crusade,
Hate…

--

--

Dr John Frederick Rose
Curated Newsletters

Love poetry, forests and my garden. Managing health by diet and exercise. Interested in ideation, social and technology interactions.