Health And Fitness

Here’s How Hormones Can Cause Fat Gain.

Strict calorie counting does not help, from my experience.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
8 min readMay 3, 2021

--

Photo by Stephanie Greene on Unsplash

In my younger years, I struggled a lot to lose weight. It was a painful experience. This is a personal story close to my heart.

I was doing everything right, following the traditional advice. The advice was calorie deficit. To create a calorie deficit, I ate less and did more exercise in the form of cardio. I ran and swam for several hours every day.

Another piece of advice was to eat little but frequently. My nutritionist told me to eat three main meals and three small snacks in between.

I religiously calculated my calorie intake and expenditure.

This recommendation sounded logical to me. I was taking approximately 1500 calories a day and burning 1700 calories, including my metabolic rate. This regime put me in a 200-calorie deficit in theory. Since I was not losing weight after several weeks, I increased my workouts in cardio form and reduced calories by cutting fat from my diet.

I thought I could burn the calories by undertaking excessive cardio and eating low-calorie food.

I learned how many calories for each food type. I also used exercise monitors to count the…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com