How Science Captivated My Childhood Mind, Building the Foundation for Lifelong Research

Memoirs of a curious boy between 5 and 10 years old

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

The author created the image using Adobe Fryfly to reflect childhood memories.

During my childhood, from five to ten, curiosity was my guide, unveiling the wonders hidden in the ordinary. It wasn’t until my adolescent years that I learned about my relatively higher IQ and EQ, leading me to attend a special school where I could learn at a different pace than my peers.

As a young boy, I marveled at the most straightforward wonders some kids take for granted. For example, captivated by delicate creatures emitting gentle, glowing light captured within jars, it felt like holding pure magic. This enchanting sight sparked a lasting fascination with nature’s luminescent mysteries.

I was fortunate to have parents who encouraged and nurtured my creativity and allowed me to explore and experiment in a safe environment without restrictions. Additionally, I received unwavering support from my teachers, caring relatives, and wonderful friends.

In this story, I aim to share seven childhood activities that laid the groundwork for my profession as a scientist, technologist, and inventor. These activities nurtured my imagination, creativity, intuition, instincts, and intellect, providing the foundation for my future endeavors.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com