How The Folding Chair Has Become A Symbol Of The Black Resistance

And why a folding chair is always a good thing to have

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by Haley Lawrence on Unsplash

Hi folks, unless you’ve been sleeping under a rock this past week, you must have heard about the Montgomery Brawl and the «folding chair» incident by now.

If not, here is a small recap. A Black boat captain was assaulted by a white man when he asked said white man to move his boat that was illegally parked in the Black man’s spot.

A brawl ensued, and other Black people, including a man with a folding chair, came to rescue the man that was being attacked. He used that folding chair to beat off the white assailants. Ever since the folding chair has taken on a life of its own. There are numerous memes all over social media showing Black people using folding chairs to fend off attacks from white people — real and imaginary.

Some people aren’t leaving home without a folding chair anymore. And others are doing self-defense classes using the folding chair as a weapon to counterattack. It has come to mean:

“Don’t mess with me or else I’ll beat you with this thing”.

While I know some of you will come after me for supporting what you see as violence and what I see as self-defense, I want to tell you right now that Black people…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION-Curated

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.