How to calm down your racing mind?

Hazel Halil Halim
Curated Newsletters
5 min readOct 1, 2020

--

Left nostril breathing and its benefits

Illustration by Zeloot

We were two, three minutes into our session when my life coach stopped me:

“Hazel, wait, wait, wait! Wait for a sec. Your mind is racing, and we need to do something about it.”

Normally such a feedback wouldn’t surprise me at all. I’m well aware that my mind goes a thousand miles an hour. I speak fast, then faster, eventually too fast. No matter how fast I speak though, there is never enough time to finish my sentences.

But that night, I wasn’t being my usual hyperactive self. As it was late, I’d just came home from my basketball training, had a shower and I was feeling exhausted. Even my mind was slow. That’s why I was stunned by her reaction.

How come in such a short time did she realise that my mind was going nuts? Well, I guess she’s an expert.

She told me, “Here’s your first homework. I want you to do left nostril breathing for eleven minutes every day”.

Excuse me? It didn’t sound fun and 11 minutes sounded like an eternity.

That’s how I got introduced to left nostril breathing for the first time and I’ve been doing it ever since.

What is Left Nostril Breathing aka Ida Nadi?

--

--

Hazel Halil Halim
Curated Newsletters

With a smile stuck on my face, I treat every problem as a pretext for creative breakthrough. Though the process is a thrill, I’m mostly in for the Sharpies.