How to Get the Right Man to Want You

Rebecca Sealfon
Curated Newsletters
9 min readJan 25, 2021

--

Photo by JD Mason on Unsplash

Eleanor North (not her real name) is a well-established New York real estate lawyer by day. By night, she is a wicked-smart writer who is one of the most-followed people on the social media site Quora. Recently, she got her first professional freelance writing gig. Eleanor reads at a supersonic pace, finishing books by the boatload. Plus, she is extremely physically active, immersing herself in martial arts. She is also extraordinarily devoted, never failing to support those she loves.

By her mid-thirties, Eleanor would be taken, or so one might think. But she has yet to find that very special man. So many people are in a similar situation, and if you are one, it’s not too late for you. Not even close. All you need to do is look around, with patience and persistence.

Let’s face it. I found the needle in the haystack. Now, I’m physically and socially awkward. I’m also very, very uncomfortable with being feminine, to the point of being gender-nonconforming. I’m obsessed with some weird things, like laughing hyenas. Hell, I’m so obsessed with hyenas, Eleanor’s pseudonym in this piece is the name of a hyena. And I don’t fit into most social groups. I didn’t go to my proms because I had no date and no one invited me. I’m only romantically compatible with someone educated, intelligent, straightforward, sincere, and Jewish of the right stripe — and Jews are only…

--

--

Rebecca Sealfon
Curated Newsletters

Former software engineer at Google, U.S. National Spelling Bee champion, and synesthete, based in New York, NY. Loves books, liberal Judaism, and nature.