How To Have a Successful Marriage

Advice from a divorcee who knows better now

Melissa Raise
Curated Newsletters

--

It’s been 10 years since my divorce. I spent 8.5 years with him. And to be honest…I knew on some level that marrying him was the wrong choice from the beginning. But, I felt obligated because we had already moved in together, and because he wanted to get married so badly. I figured that whatever was “wrong” between us would eventually work itself out. Back then I didn’t know why things didn’t feel great between us. As I look back, now in my 40’s, I can very clearly see the mistakes I made. Read on to find out what they were.

Photo by Burst from Pexels

Mistake Number One: Lack of clarity about life goals and desires.

When we decided to buy a house together, I didn’t know much about what made me who I was. I came from a small town in upstate NY and I liked it that way…I just didn’t realize that it was at the base of what makes me who I am. I came to the southwest because I thought it was a stepping stone on my adventure. I had not yet realized that adult choices create a different kind of timeline in life, with phrases that seem to drag on forever, and more impactful responsibilities. When I decided to buy that first house (and the second) with my x, I was still operating under the assumption that you can change the details of your life any time you…

--

--

Melissa Raise
Curated Newsletters

Owner of Raise the Bar Wellness. Wellness Coach, CPT, LMT. Exploring a sober mom's journey from dysfunction...to wellness. Instagram @raisethebarwellness