How to Know You Didn’t Do a Good Job Explaining Your Startup

“He Wants Everyone On Facebook to Pay Him a Dollar.”

Leo Guinan
Curated Newsletters

--

I quit my corporate job a couple of weeks ago in order to pursue my dream of launching a startup. The night I decided that I needed to quit in order to pursue my dream, I had a conversation with my dad.

He tried to talk me out of it. He is risk-averse. He thought that I should be safe. I shouldn’t risk my stability.

My Communication Problems

I have been a software engineer for almost a decade now. Over this time, I have developed a certain style of communication. Whenever we communicate with a certain group of people for a considerable time, we tend to pick up certain speech patterns and vocabulary. I have learned to speak to a group of engineers and communicate my ideas to them. But what happens when I am no longer talking to engineers?

I have a vision for the future that I want to create. But I spoke of it in a language that we didn’t share. If my dad were a tech colleague, he would have been able to follow what I said. But he wasn’t. I didn’t do a great job of considering my audience.

I spoke about my monetization strategy, which revolves around my main premise that I want to pay people for their data. I tried…

--

--