How To Train To Walk A Half-Marathon

Danell teNyenhuis Black
Curated Newsletters
4 min readOct 17, 2020

--

If you don’t mind risking injury and possibly damaging friendships.

Photo by Miguel A. Amutio on Unsplash

“You want to walk a half-marathon? Don’t we have to train for that?” asked my friend Diana.

“We cycle 50 miles every Saturday! We can walk 13.1 miles, no problem,” I replied.

“Are you sure Danell? I have never walked that far,” added my friend Kimberly.

“I did it last year AND I did a training ride in the afternoon,” I bragged.

“Okay, if you say so,” said Diana.

Once an athlete, always an athlete, right?

I was a four-year varsity track and cross-country runner in high school. I wasn’t a standout, but I was good enough to make the team, which meant I was in shape year-round. I loved the camaraderie of being on a team. I didn’t particularly love the running part of it.

In college, I intended to run recreationally for exercise. But, as previously mentioned, I didn’t love to run. And, after years of running, it was harder to get back in shape after a break. I occasionally did…

--

--