“Humbition”: Success Formula for Neo-Age Leaders

Today’s leaders need to combine hitherto contrasting traits, whilst shedding off expired attributes

Shagun Sharma
Curated Newsletters

--

On a Monday morning, I had just sat down at my desk already caught up on emails through the transit, when my then manager walked over to me and said,

“Hey Shagun, I’m working on a new client request.
I have the theory ready, but just wanted to understand more on, if the approach actually translates well in the practical field? Is it easily implementable?

Can you advise me?

Advise my “holy” manager?

The person had been a consultant manager since I was still in school. The problem he brought to me was not an unstructured problem. Certainly not a new expertise area for him. But just the sheer humility of him reaching out for any “new” updates, from a beginner associate like me, was big.

Therefore, in the later years, I was not amused when he led dozens of projects in that domain area, some of which I was part of.

--

--

Shagun Sharma
Curated Newsletters

Business consultant. Doesn’t publish daily, writes daily. Reads and writes on philosophy, society, business, science | Published in The Ascent