I Came to a Bridge While Out Walking

Kevin Farran
Curated Newsletters
2 min readNov 25, 2020

--

In the midst and turmoil of daily life where do we cross to find ourself?

Photo by author in Kyoto

A Bridge to Our Self Once Taken — a free verse poem

I came across a bridge and lingered before crossing

Stone and mosaic moss, it slept before me

Paths worn and tired, it tempted untold souls

Arched to perfection, its completeness concealed a blessed cruelty.

The stone bridge echoes of departure and arrival

It spans time like a mirror of thought

Reaching across from expectation and desire

It touches down in uncertainty, battles yet to be fought.

It urges us to abandon safety and the known,

It spurns our past, dismissively casting it asunder.

It chides us to challenge fear and innovation,

It embraces the future, heralding unknown wonder.

Stretched across time the stone arch holds out its hand

Without judgement it lures in an innocent beckoning.

Can I face truth and cross time to see myself?

Like Narcissus are my reflected dreams my true reckoning?

--

--

Kevin Farran
Curated Newsletters

Kamakura based writer, lover of Great Danes, vintage cars, good red wine, bonsai and the Bard