I Don’t Know Where I Fit in As A Christian

Churches are devising doctrines, litmus tests and platforms that go beyond the teachings of Christ.

Bebe Nicholson
Curated Newsletters
6 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

Photo by Anna Gru on Unsplash

My partner and I were talking yesterday about the biggest differences the pandemic had made in our lives.

He mentioned not going out with friends, not going to restaurants and not traveling.

Those changes are real and valid, and I feel them, too. But they aren’t forever (hopefully). All pandemics come to an end. Life resumes. People will go to restaurants, meet with friends, travel again.

But the one significant way my life might not return to normal is in my relationship with the church. I haven’t been in almost a year, even though the church has made sporadic attempts at reopening. But attendance isn’t what I’m talking about.

Being away from church has given me more time and inclination to look into church policies, to hear online ministers from a wide variety of denominations, and to pay closer attention to how our church leaders and members have been responding to the pandemic, politics and other issues.

What I see is a church divided, with neither side representing my idea of what it means to live out a personal relationship with Christ in a diverse, politically divided and…

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
Curated Newsletters

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net