THE WRITER’S LIFE

I Had an Interesting Experience Today

The Writer’s Life

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
ILLUMINATION-Curated
4 min readApr 6, 2024

--

Bazookas Restaurante, As American As Apple Pie. https://bazookasrest.com/

On Friday mornings a bunch of us expat women gather to play cards at our favorite hang-out in town, Bazookas. They cater to us expats, with many of the wait staff fluent in English, always happy to see us, and they give us a large, airy, table-filled room so we can spread out in groups of four to play “Hand and Foot.” It’s loosely based on Canasta, but you’ll have to click the link to learn more.

It’s my one day of socializing! Being a writer is a bit isolating at times, especially with deadlines, late nights, and the intense dry heat we’ve had this summer keeping both me and my dog flattened with our tongues hanging out.

With my new book recently launched, I was excited to show a copy to my fellow card players. I’m not expecting them to buy a copy, but I’m admittedly proud of myself for writing it, finishing it, getting it published, and now it’s available in many places — just not here yet, which is why my sherpa friend brought down a case of them on his recent visit.

So, we’re concentrating on playing cards and this guy barges right into our “private” room, with his dog, to ask if he could film us. He said he makes videos about expat life in Costa Rica, and, once he agreed to photoshop us all back about 25 years, we…

--

--

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Author of "The Accidental Expat: A Costa Rican Adventure", science lover, contributing editor at SalishMagazine.org, expat, seeking the interesting and unusual