I Killed A Dog

It felt so wrong.

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Three pug dogs, looking up, probably at their master.
This is exactly what the two dogs I was watching looked like. My dog, a boxer, loved playing with them. Photo by Sneaky Elbow on Unsplash.

I will never dogsit again. I’m too traumatized.

It wasn’t like the Kristi Noem story — I didn’t deliberately kill a dog.

It was an accident.

But while I didn’t kill the dog, I was a contributing factor.

Here’s what went down.

Some people are perfectly fine leaving their dogs at a kennel when leaving town for vacation or other reasons. It’s not always a popular decision, but sometimes, there are no options.

However, if you have a close friend or family member, most would be willing to take care of your animal or animals, usually at their home. Cats don’t necessarily have to leave their homes, depending on the number of days their family is gone. Dogs, on the other hand, require attention and walking. So, it can be a lot to “bite off,” especially for a busy person.

In 2017, when I was living in Chicago, a friend of mine waited until the last minute to do something with her dogs while she attended an out-of-town wedding. I was not working then, so I could do it, but I did have to convince my partner. He agreed, as long as the owner brought a kennel and they stayed in there at night.

Her pets were two pugs, Ollie and Sophie.

Why does it seem like pug…

--

--

Arthur Keith
ILLUMINATION-Curated

My goal is to inform, educate, & entertain. Top writer in LGBTQ, Music, Climate Change. Directionally dyslexic with an excellent sense of direction.