I Suddenly Understand Why Solopreneurs Charge So Much

All I had to do was become one to figure it out.

Kristi Keller
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Whoever said necessity was the mother of invention certainly wasn’t lying.

All it takes is being unemployed for 8 months in a relentlessly bleak job market to figure out how quickly you need to create a better path for yourself.

Sometimes the universe offers to create the path for you. Just pay attention to what people are asking for and you too could find yourself charging rates you never dreamed would feel legit.

This was the case with my accidental little business that so far seems poised to flourish.

As a writer of multiple Substack publications, naturally I am very active and present on the platform. As a result, I began receiving occasional requests for help from other writers.

One writer in particular messaged me asking if I would do certain tasks for her and she would pay me XX/hour for my work. Her hourly offer seemed really high but who was I to turn her down? I was unemployed.

She offered, I accepted, and a brand new business idea was born, billing what I felt were exorbitant rates. I chose to adopt the mentality that if she was willing to pay it, then others surely would be.

--

--

Kristi Keller
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Write like no one is reading, because it might be true. Never let the truth stand in the way of a good story. https://wildhoodwanted.substack.com/