“In Every Mirror She’s Black”

My interview with award-winning author Lolá Ákínmádé Äkerström

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Award-winning author Lolá Ákínmádé Äkerström

Click here to listen to my interview with Lolá Ákínmádé Äkerström

It’s not every day that one has an opportunity to sit down with one’s favorite author and have a heart-to-heart discussion. A few days ago, I had the privilege of speaking with Lolá Ákínmádé Äkerström, a Nigeria-Swedish writer and journalist whose award-winning book, In Every Mirror She’s Black, recounts the experiences of three Black women: Britanny, Kemi, and Muna as they navigate their lives in Sweden.

Her thought-provoking prose, devoid of any attempt to hide their realities, digs deeply into their personal stories and shows the reader the challenges that Black women face in largely predominantly white societies. Whether it be immigration, being fetishized, or others doubting their abilities, being a Black woman is hard. The book speaks to similar themes I discuss in my Diary of a Black Woman in a White World.

In Every Mirror She’s Black is a deeply moving book. It leaves the reader outraged by the injustices each of these characters face. It is the only book that accurately reflects so many experiences I have had as a Black woman living in Switzerland. The book makes me feel seen and is a must-read for anyone truly seeking to feel seen, to…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION-Curated

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.