Isolation Isn’t Good For Us

I’m hoping to connect with my friends in the New Year

Zul Bal
Curated Newsletters

--

I’m sitting here in a boring room
It’s just another rainy Sunday afternoon
I’m wasting my time, I got nothing to do
I’m hanging around, I’m waiting for you
But nothing ever happens
And I wonder

—Excerpt from Lemon Tree by Fools Garden

I woke up feeling icky about the “ground-hoginess” of my life. The monotony of going through the same routine day after day has recently gotten under my skin. Over breakfast, I snap at my husband for not sharing my feelings. He has never once complained about being holed up at home indefinitely.

We try going out every day to walk or do grocery shopping. Otherwise, we are home, day in and day out.

Why are you okay with it?” I demand, irrationally.

I don’t really want him to share my icky feelings. One of us has to remain a sane enough parent for our son. And, deep down I’m also okay, thriving and adapting just like my husband. But just not today.

I watch movie after movie to escape into someone else’s world and forget my own. The movie Marie Antoinette made me wonder about her first daughter, Marie…

--

--

Zul Bal
Curated Newsletters

I write to collect, capture, and curate ordinary beautiful ideas.