I’ve Missed Another $500 Medium Bonus

Medium did it again. More bonuses have been reported as showing up in writer accounts for June.

Jennifer Geer
Curated Newsletters
2 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I have been neglecting my Medium account for months. I have had other things going on. And then I heard the news: Writers received cash bonuses in May for high reader engagement.

The bonus reveal has revived my interest in the platform. Not just for the money, but the challenge of it all. Who is winning these bonuses, and if I write enough, can I be one of them?

The surprise bonus, of course, launched a thousand theories and many articles analyzing those theories and many more articles debunking those theories as to why and how the Medium gods were dispersing the extra money.

Which, of course, made the whole thing all the more exciting and kept me hoping maybe next time, it could be me.

Not one to back down from a challenge, I immediately felt energized to begin writing on Medium again. I vowed to pay more attention to my Medium account. I swore to post regularly to multiple publications.

But that didn’t happen. Life (and actual paying clients that don’t keep me guessing if I’ll collect a payday or not), got in the way. I only posted eight articles for May, and over half of them were published elsewhere first.

Now I see that Medium has struck again. There are reports of the second round of bonuses, and it appears this might keep happening, and I’ve just got to get in on the next one.

Except that June is already a fourth of the way over, and I’ve posted exactly nothing yet on Medium. Except for this. And another one, previously published elsewhere, that is currently awaiting acceptance in a publication.

Can I do it? Can I start publishing regularly on Medium?

Only time will tell. Although considering my 10-year-old is out of school for the summer, and we’re heading on a road trip tomorrow, I have some serious doubts.

I can only hope Medium keeps up this bonus business through the fall when maybe, I’ll have some time to go for it.

--

--

Jennifer Geer
Curated Newsletters

Writer, blogger, mom, owner of pugs, wellness enthusiast, and true crime obsessed.