Janet

Darcy Thiel
Curated Newsletters
3 min readDec 4, 2020

--

photo by author

My sister Janet is eight years older than me. I have some memories of her as a kid, but mostly there was a big enough age difference that we didn’t steal each other’s clothes or boyfriends so there weren’t a lot of conflicts.

She is the middle child, but for years we also called her the Perfect Child. As adults, I found out that she always hated that so I stopped saying it. I also call her Dad’s favorite daughter and I haven’t stopped saying that.

I joke around about it, but it doesn’t seriously bother me because she is truly one of the kindest women I’ve ever known in my life.

I was just talking with a client yesterday who has a family member with cancer news. I remembered when we starting testing my husband Tim and suspected it might be cancer. Janet lived near Rochester so she was an hour-and-twenty-minute drive away.

I was on the phone with her when she said, “No matter what happens Darcy, you won’t be alone. We will be there every step of the way.”

And she was.

Twice during Tim’s five months of illness, she took an unpaid leave of absence to come and help. I never forgot that because there were other relatives/friends that lived closer and were more close to Tim than she was, but she was the one that didn’t bat an eye.

--

--

Darcy Thiel
Curated Newsletters

What people say they appreciate most about me is my genuine nature. Check out my website at: www.darcythiel.com