Sprint Poetry of Confusion

Jigsaw Dreams

Cocoa Griot
Curated Newsletters
Oct 18, 2020

--

I cannot get it together.

A man is missing a piece of a puzzle to complete himself.
Image by Richard Reid from Pixabay

I am suffering from jigsaw dreams.
They are scattered and disjointed I cannot decipher what they mean.

People from different decades of my fifty plus years,
are huddled together in my triumphs and fears.

The images are brilliant, and the plots are complex.
Every night I close my eyes my mind these dreams do vex.

Companions from my youth join forces with my kids.
Intermingling of time periods is summoned by the close of my lids.

My valiant efforts thus far have me feeling I am not that clever,
I cannot put the pieces of these jigsaw dreams together.

For the past month my dreams have been a fusion of different time periods in my life. People from my childhood are starring alongside people I have met only in the last few years. This is a puzzling affair and I am constantly questioning why I am dreaming like this. Thanks for reading my poem!

--

--