Lakshmi’s Love Shack

Alexis Behrend
Curated Newsletters
17 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Romantic Fails a la Narcissist

Photo by Joanna Nix-Walkup on Unsplash

My ex-husband kept referring to him as a gardener during the divorce. I’ll have you know, he was so much more. A Landscape Visioneer he was, and he certainly changed mine! Lakshmi-Love, wherever you are now, I will always thank you for opening my eyes.

It all started one dreary Sunday in 2011. I was sat on our bed after a late morning shower examining my breasts. The year before, I’d undergone an operation to remove a cancerous lump and while I might have been completely cleared now, it’s not a thing you ever forget to check for once your partner in life has had to suffer the inconvenience of two weeks’ disruption to your working life and cash saving duties. And then, heaven forfend, there was the no small matter of those short people he’d found wandering around the house looking for num nums and something called a cuddle. I had to keep an eye out for them too.

So when he found me, arm in the air, pawing at my soft tissues with a worried look on my face, it was just too much for any mere mortal to bear.

“What are you looking at now? For God’s sake, it’s coming up to Sunday lunchtime! What exactly are the kids doing in the garden? You know you can’t let Obie loose with tools unless he’s supervised.”

--

--

Alexis Behrend
Curated Newsletters

Mother, author, poet, educator, escapee. Obsessed with finding ease in relationships, health, wellbeing and the juggling of life. alexisbehrend.com