Let Your Inner Weirdo Out

I’ve encountered and known thousands of people. I’ve never met a ‘normal’. Everyone’s weird in their own way.

Rebecca Romanelli
Curated Newsletters

--

Weird runs rampant in my family. From left, friend Mother Earth, husband James, SIL Artemis, brother Matthew author photo

‘You're such a weirdo!’ was the first label I remember receiving. It was dished out by two older brothers, days before my 5th birthday. They wouldn’t tell me what a weirdo was so I ran inside to look it up in the dictionary. Our parents trained us to do this, it was a family habit.

I ended up agreeing with my siblings. It even thrilled me. I was a weirdo, a witch and quite pleased to be one.

Here’s the Merriam Webster definition I read all those years ago:

WEIRD [adjective] 1: of strange or extraordinary character 2: of, relating to, or caused by witchcraft or the supernatural: Magical

WEIRD [noun] 1: FATE, DESTINY 2: SOOTHSAYER

I continued on, reading the definition of WEIRDO: a person who is extraordinarily strange or eccentric.

This explanation applied to my brothers as well, so I ended up confused.

Today I decided to check out the Urban Dictionary, modern take on WEIRDO:

‘Someone who is different from everybody else but that’s okay because they're being themselves and they aren’t like the fake bitches you see

--

--

Rebecca Romanelli
Curated Newsletters

Heart Navigator-Forever Untamed-Inner Child Never Left-Global Citizen-who can’t go a day without Nature.