Society

Love in the Age of Dating Apps Can Be Fatal in India

And so is bigotry

I, Napoleon B.
Curated Newsletters
4 min readJan 3, 2023

--

Love in the Age of Dating Apps Can Be Fatal in India
Photo by UniQue Click By Sonam Singh: https://www.pexels.com/photo/indian-couple-in-traditional-clothing-6544197/

When I was working on cruise ships, a Filipina crew member started dating a young Indian guy, and the woman was judged by our fellow Filipino crew members, especially the men, many of whom are married.

Someone said,

She was better off with the Filipino guy who was pursuing her, even if he was married.

Yes, there’s a lot of racism going on — off the boat.

Love in the age of dating apps

I found love not once but a few times on dating apps. I will just leave it at that, it can happen and I’m not alone.

Love in the Age of Dating Apps Can Be Fatal in India
Photo by Mizuno K: https://www.pexels.com/photo/couple-eating-one-ice-cream-together-by-a-van-13931417/

I have been lucky. I have some security questions, and I trust my gut. I also know not everyone you meet online is safe, I was catfished once.

But we take chances, and it isn’t our fault when we love and trust.

This is the story of Shraddha Walkar a young woman who was allegedly killed by the man she loved. The man she met on Bumble, a dating app. They were together since 2019, until one day he allegedly…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
Curated Newsletters

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS