Making A Life-changing Decision Is Never Easy, But Good For You Mentally

Non-profit organizations are more complex than you can imagine

Tom Handy
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Volunteers
Volunteer photo by RDNE Stock project on Pexels

Last week, I made one of the toughest decisions in years. You could even call it life-changing.

You see, I was Executive Director for a veteran 501 C3 non-profit organization for the past year and a half. Before that, I was the President.

After seeing a loss of focus, direction, and no communication in the group, I felt it was my time to leave.

I wrote my letter of resignation and pointed out the issues I saw. Most were aimed at the poor leadership in the group.

In January 2024, the group had a meeting, and a member volunteered to be president. After nearly four years as president, I was happy to let him have it.

Serving as president is difficult, especially for a non-profit organization.

  • No one gets paid
  • It’s a voluntary role
  • Board members are needed to run the organization

There’s more, but these were some of the main challenges.

Right from the start, the president didn’t want my advice. We communicated over email and he did not want my input as he assumed the role…

--

--

Tom Handy
ILLUMINATION-Curated

I ghostwrite articles for FinTech executives. Seen in Morning Brew, Money magazine, & Who's Who. Get my free email course https://tom-handy.ck.page/5bc47f9d15