My Adoption of My Grandchild

Understanding the adoption process

Lisa Holliday
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Maria Lysenko on Unsplash

When I found out that I needed to step in and care for my granddaughter, I never expected that I would actually end up raising her.

To protect my grandchild from her drug-addicted parents and to give her a better life, I sought out to find her a new family. I wanted her to have parents. During that process, I had my daughter and her partner's parental rights removed. When you remove someone’s parental rights, someone has to adopt the child at the end of the day; now that someone is me.

My granddaughter has been back with me now for 2 months. Some of the reasons I sought adoption in the first place are showing themselves now. My fears are coming to fruition, but isn’t that how it works? When you fear something, the energy you put into the fear gives it power.

My fears? My granddaughter having her grandparents for parents. Her getting asked questions about where her parents are. Her feeling badly that she has a mom and dad who aren’t available to her. My granddaughter living with the reality of her parent's choices and feeling somehow responsible.

I have only had small glimpses of those fears in the past 2 months, but I am starting to give those fears less credence. This is our life now, and I will do my best to cushion her from what I…

--

--