My Best Supervisors Weren’t Always College Educated

It’s More About Ethos and Relationships — Not Titles, Ego, and Degrees

Phil Rossi
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Image: Pete Wright

Being a film and TV extra, my union (SAG-AFTRA) and the WGA remain on strike. As a performance artist, I’m used to survival, stop-gap, and seasonal jobs in between the highs and lows of film and television production.

I’ve had my share of managers, supervisors, and small business owners. In my experience, I’ve enjoyed superior relationships with my working-class managers. This is not meant as an indictment on college curriculums and advanced degree programs.

A ‘by the book’ philosophy permeates many professional settings. I’ve seen bottom lines, morale, and productivity collapse rather than flourish by the Management 101 dogmas.

I’ve also witnessed both sides of the culture aisle through jobs, careers, and temp work. I often wonder if it was the corporate jungle that urged me to escape its wrath, pushing me into the arts and its freewheeling lifestyle. Who knows?

In my experience, my blue-collar supervisors brought, shared, and employed practical and diplomatic ethos. More about fairness, meritocracy, and what’s best for the company. And no one, including these supervisors, is above the company rules and standards.

--

--