My Heart Beats Like A Drum

The beat of the drum, the moon and the stars

Liam Ireland
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photograph by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

And every now and then, when I’m on my own, I look around my world, everything I own.

A photograph of me, when I was young. A smile upon my face, in my heart a song.

My heart beat like a drum, I had the sun in my face, I had the moon and the stars in my eyes to help me find my way.

And I remember when I felt all alone, and my world was a whirl, with the sun shining on.

My heart beat like a drum, I had the sun in my face, I had the moon and the stars in my eyes to help me find my way.

And though I'm older now, my life still goes on.
And still I'm here singing that same old beautiful song,
because in my heart the music goes on and on and on.
And for all of that, my heart still beats like a drum, a drum, a drum....

--

--