My Hell Working on the Frontline During the Initial Outbreaks of COVID

Queenie Davies
Curated Newsletters
5 min readJun 8, 2024

As a frontline health worker amidst a pandemic, I experienced the brunt of people’s hysteria and fears in a chaotic community

A busy pharmacy with many customers queuing at the front counter, as well as people browsing nearby.
Image source: Stocksnaps from bbernard

A terrible month from hell commenced with my stress from being unable to return home, which impacted my wellbeing. COVID broke out in Australia during March 2020, which shut down interstate borders and isolated me from my loved ones and dear friends in South Australia. Working as a health professional teaching and mentoring managers and pharmacists in Queensland, the closed borders prevented me from returning home.

Upon instructions from headquarters, I continued my work, rotating in community pharmacies located in northeastern Australia. Emphasized at the top of my prioritized agenda was promoting and recording osteoporosis referrals for appropriate people to their doctors, as well as highlighting great leadership and ownership mindsets in managers. In the meantime, a work-life balance preoccupied my mind to offset the challenging circumstances affecting my mental health.

Initially, my leisure time consisted of frequent brisk walks and refreshing bicycle rides along the adjacent island beaches. Nature provided a realm of calm, beauty, and revitalized energy from which I maintained my sanity amidst the chaotic turmoil and harrowing fears that swept the community.

At every pharmacy that I visited to support colleagues, the staff withstood the crushing storm of confused and anxious customers. The fears of incoming people intensified as extremely sought after medical masks, hand sanitizers, and toilet paper rapidly disappeared from the shelves of all shops. Angry customers repeatedly transferred their negative feelings of frustration, uncertainty, and general fear towards the staff.

Other patrons were also bickering amongst themselves as they jostled in long queues in the pharmacy. It seemed like a horrible hell that preceded the end of the world. Armageddon!

Various prescription medications became out of stock from wholesalers, and thus, this denied some patients their regular medications. This dilemma further impacted the normal smooth workflow of the businesses as well as upset the patients. Pharmacists collaborate with their prescriber to ensure the optimal alternative drug was prescribed for the patient.

Unfortunately, the COVID and influenza viruses were gradually infecting staff members, which dwindled the number of available workers on the pharmacy floor. Consequently, waiting times ballooned to at least 45 minutes rather than the customary 10 to 15 minutes. Every frontline worker was under the pump, juggling their responsibilities and duties for the best interests and welfare of patrons.

Furthermore, supervisors, retail managers, and managerial pharmacists continually scanned the current situation among staff’s wellbeing, as well as to ensure calm and an orderly business function. There were frequent health checks on fellow colleagues, such as:

“Are you okay, mate?”

The comforting, soothing, and supportive words alleviated the constant stress of workers in the demanding environment. Every staff member comprehended that:

“We were all in this together.”

Frequent two-hour breaks facilitated a rest to replenish our energy while working in the cauldron of intense emotions in the pharmacy. Feeling drained, we sipped a soothing aromatic coffee or tea while attempting to switch off from brooding in the chaos outside. Indeed, the world entered a challenging period that thoroughly tested humanity.

The situation was dire due to the interruption of the robotic dispensing system. Since the store serviced thousands of customers on a daily basis, three pharmacists, aptly assisted by two intern pharmacists and two dispensary technicians, were necessary to contend with the tremendous demand from the customers.

The massive square robot, which consisted of inner steel shelves, chutes, and computer screens, stored prescription drugs.

A massive machine storing prescription medicines.
Image from Wikimedia Commons: Марина Гнидина

Upon the dispensing of a prescription, the appropriate medication was shuttled to the dispenser via the robotic arm. Hence, with the robotic dispensing system out of action, efficiency decreased since dispensing staff manually collected the corresponding drug from a shelf or from a storage box.

One by one, respect, compassion, and patience accompany the service for each customer. Many people simply sought reassurance that the horrible nightmare of the COVID pandemic would pass and facilitate normality in receiving timely supplies of their medications. The passing of friends and relatives is distressing, especially among elderly people. Numerous distraught customers were gently ushered into a private consultation room since privacy and their mental wellbeing were paramount. The understanding and kindness portrayed by the pharmacy staff eventually reflected on the customers as they peacefully exited the store.

In such demanding conditions worldwide, humanity prevailed in the essential services of the pharmacy. A quiet environment where solitude and a compassionate listener such as a caring, trustworthy pharmacist were integral parts of optimizing each person’s health care plan. The interaction silently forged the connection of human spirits that was imperative in an ideal world of oneness where every person’s welfare was entwined with one another.

At the conclusion of the day, relief was visibly displayed on the faces of every pharmacy staff member. After the owner and manager of the pharmacy offered supportive, kind words to the workers, we all departed and returned to the comfort, calm, and security of our homes. However, since my family was two thousand miles away, I breathed a sigh with the knowledge that I must continue my self-care and love to optimize my wellbeing during adverse conditions.

In the solitude of the rental apartment, overlooking a tranquil beachfront, my body was motionless as I sat cross-legged on a round foam stool. Allowing my breathing to slow down, my thoughts and feelings visited my mind and exited without any resistance or indulgence from my attention. Since any harsh reality may sabotage my inner harmony and clarity, there were no expectations or wishes for tomorrow at work to be peaceful and smooth-flowing. My awareness is being present in the current moment, in which I am one with my inner being and my serene surroundings.

Despite a tumultuous external world, I have the power to manifest my inner harmony and joy. In turn, sleep enticed me as I closed my eyes and drifted off to rejuvenate my wearied head and body.

--

--

Queenie Davies
Curated Newsletters

Hoping to uplift your day with these engaging stories, life lessons, positivity, and all things aesthetically beautiful. Let’s tread this life together!