My Near-Death Experience

And The Stranger Thing That Happened After It

Susan Bostian
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

I can still remember the moment that our car left the road and I saw only trees in front of us.

Against my better judgment, I had gotten into a car with my boyfriend who had consumed too much alcohol.

It was after midnight and no one saw the accident so it’s unclear how long we were unconscious in the car.

But, what I do remember is the feeling of being suspended in a column of white light and realizing with every cell in my body that I was dead. It was a deeply profound awareness. It was also the calmest, most peaceful feeling that I had ever experienced.

I remember looking up into the column of light and waiting. But, there was no anxiety, or panic associated with the waiting. I felt a kind of bliss and internal peace. There were no other feelings that we typically associate with waiting. In the moment, it was knowing that I had died, waiting for the next thing, and a joy that was felt by every molecule in my body.

Except I didn’t have a sense of having a body. If I had to describe it, I felt more like a cloud.

Most people would call this a near-death experience. But, my definition of death is the separation of the body and the soul or spirit. I feel as though my…

--

--