Never Too Old: Lessons Learned as an Adult Piano Beginner

Takeaways from taking on the learning journey at 39

Jade-Ceres Violet D. Munoz
ILLUMINATION-Curated

--

Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

When I turned 39, I decided it was time to learn the piano. I was terrified. I asked myself over and over again if this was the right thing to do. I was concerned about whether I was too old to learn at this stage. I also had to assess if this was just something brought on by some sort of midlife crisis or if it is something can I can develop a passion for. I had so many questions in my mind even before I started my first lesson.

I did a bit of research to find out if there are adult learners out there who actually succeeded in learning the piano later in life. There were many amazing YouTube videos of adult learners documenting their playing progress and it was very inspiring. I also read from the London Piano Institute, adult learners “have the ability to concentrate for longer, expand a lot more mental effort and actually practice a lot longer”

After doing my research, I felt somewhat more confident about what I was about to do. It was a significant investment to learn the piano — lessons aren’t exactly cheap and I had to buy books and the actual instrument to practice on. I worked with a piano teacher and also bought a self-learning app as well as my first keyboard.

--

--

Jade-Ceres Violet D. Munoz
ILLUMINATION-Curated

A digital marketer, a startup co-founder, a Book Fairy, a mom, and a writer. Based in New Zealand. Follow me at: https://www.newsbreak.com/publishers/@561036