POETRY

Off the Menu — № 500!

What my humour has to say about Medium’s algorithm?

James G Brennan
Curated Newsletters
2 min readJun 6, 2021

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

A reply to Anthi Psomiadou’s Algorithmicomedy. Only, it’s not that funny.

Not very rhythmical, not over here, East of Africa.
Like a lousy drummer who can’t keep time
throwing me out of… sync;
surely you were expecting no rhyme.

Over here, our face’s don’t fit; let’s not get started on stype.
No payment to Asians, poor Asians, they can stay poor.

Options disappearing off the menu
can’t use just my phone or just my computer
to order, one for starter, one for main course,
forget about dessert, not enough ones and naughts
stocked in the larder for even the simplest of treats.

The option to say grace with Dr Yildiz
has been banned from the table where I sit!
instead, I sit opposite a charlatan who took his place.
“Oi mate, you Look nothing like Dr Yildiz. Do one!”

Most frustrating as Dr Yildiz will be unaware I
have tried to thank him for the miracles he has worked.
Better light some more candles.

Read Anthi’s hilarious piece here. Feel free to join in this bit of rib-tickling fun.
We do appreciate you, Medium.

Thank you as always, Dr Mehmet Yildiz and the ILLUMINATION-Curated team for giving my words a platform. 🙏✨🙏✨
Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J. 🙏✨

--

--

James G Brennan
Curated Newsletters

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.